The winners of the 2017 MAM Awards with the MAM Board of Judges – CFO Interim OIC Maria Regina Angela Galias, PMRW President Carmelita Nuqui, NCCA Representative Nicole Morfe and PIA Representative Adora Rodriguez

As part of the month-long celebration of the Month of Overseas Filipinos observed every December, the Commission on Filipinos Overseas led by Interim-OIC Maria Regina Angela Galias conferred Migration Advocacy and Media Awards to 10 best media institutions, practitioners and advocates during the Awarding Ceremony on December 18, 2017 (also International Migrants Day) at the Philippine International Convention Center, Pasay City. This year’s awardees came from the US, Italy, Myanmar, South Korea, Singapore and the Philippines.


Now on its sixth year, the MAM Awards was conceived in 2011 by the CFO to recognize the significant role of the media, particularly in the fields of print, radio, TV and movie, advertising and the internet, in raising public awareness on issues related to Filipino migration, and the challenges of migration and development, and advocating the cause and promoting a positive image of Filipinos overseas.


 MAM Awards winners (from left-right;up-down) May Garlitos, Pia Eliza Angeles-Gonzalez, Chaewon Eun, Atty. Michael Gurfinkel, Eleazar del Rosario, Ian Simbulan, Jose Dennis Teodosio, Ana Santos and Eric Martin Santos

The recipients of the Awards are May Garlitos for the inspiring book on financial literacy and women empowerment by Aski Global – “FEW: Financially Empowered Women” (Best Book on Migration); Pia Angeles-Gonzales, editor for the newspaper and online website for OFs in Italy – “Ako ay Pilipino” (Best Newspaper and Website on Migration); Chaewon Eun and Maria Genevie Kim for the Woongjin Foundation’s cultural radio show for Filipinos in South Korea – “Philippine Language Multicultural Family Music Radio” (Hall of Famer and Best Radio Program on Migration); Atty. Michael Gurfinkel for his long-time running television show which tackles legal immigration issues of Filipinos in North America – ABS-CBN TFC’s “Citizen Pinoy” (Best Regular TV Show on Migration); Maki Pulido and Jiggy Manicad (represented by Ian Simbulan) for their heartbreaking documentary about two Filipinas in Hong Kong who are battling with cancer – GMA-7’s “Reporters’ Notebook: Hikbi Sa Ibayong Dagat” (Best Episodic TV Show on Migration); Marian Rivera (represented by Eleazar del Roasario) for her drama anthology featuring the colorful and challenging life of OFWs – GMA-7’s “Tadhana” (Best TV Series on Migration); Jose Dennis Teodosio and Joamar-John Canosa for their documentary about notable Filipinos in Myanmar – “Mga Dayo: Stories of Filipinos in Myanmar” (Best Documentary on Migration); Ana Santos for her moving blog on the social costs of migration – “Who Takes Care of Nanny’s Children blog” (Best Blog on Migration); Eric Martin Santos and Francis Bryan Lua for their heartwarming TV advertisement – ABS-CBN TFC’s myREMIT “Papa’s Boy” (Best Advertisement on Migration).

In her message, Director Galias, thanked the awardees for educating the public and for spreading various advocacies concerning migration and development, ranging from health and welfare of overseas Filipinos, financial literacy and investment promotion, cultural appreciation, to reintegration. With the proliferation of fake and unverified news especially in social media, she highlighted the responsibility of media in ensuring that they provide the accurate, important and up-to-date information to the public.

The winners expressed their gratitude to the CFO and to all their supporters and followers, for recognizing their efforts and media works. The awards they received are testament for their excellence and distinction for being the government’s valuable partner in mainstreaming and raising public awareness on the various issues on migration.

The panel of judges for this year’s MAM Awards is headed by the CFO, with representatives from the Philippine Migrants Rights Watch (PMRW), National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), Presidential Communications Operations Office (PCOO), Philippines Information Agency (PIA), Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP), and National Press Club of the Philippines (NPC).