cfo hosts dinner pafioo 2018p1
The 2018 Presidential awardees with CFO Secretary and Chairperson Justice Nick Acosta and Usec. Astravel Pimentel-Naik


12/04/2018. The Commission on Filipinos Overseas hosted a Pre-Awards Testimonial Dinner in honor of the 2018 Presidential Awardees on December 3, 2018 at the Manila Hotel. CFO Secretary Justice Francisco “Nick” Acosta and Usec. Astravel Pimentel-Naik welcomed and gave “plaque of commendation” to all the awardees who are based overseas.


In his inspirational message, Secretary Acosta recognized the valuable contributions of the awardees – “We have with us a diverse set of awardees from Asia, Australia, the Middle East, Latin America, and Northern America across different fields of expertise who inspire the next generation of Filipino professionals. Our overseas Filipinos have evolved from being just senders of cash or personal remittances to becoming investors and entrepreneurs, achievers, good Samaritans, and humanitarians. They have learned to pay forward the blessings they have gained and achieved. For both the Philippines and their host countries, they have become models of industry, sacrifice, and love.” He also conveyed that under the present administration, President Rodrigo Duterte gives utmost priority to overseas Filipinos. He also happily announced that for the first time since the conferment of the Presidential Awards, the CFO in partnership with PAGCOR and its President Atty. Alfredo Lim, will be sponsoring the roundtrip airfare and hotel accommodation of all the awardees. Atty. Lim praised the awardees for their hard work and for upholding the honor and pride of the Philippines.

The awardees expressed gratitude for the Awards, saying it was an early Christmas gift and truly a humbling experience that the Philippine government noticed their sacrifices, benevolence, extraordinary talent and important role in nation-building. They said that the Presidential medallion they will be receiving from President Duterte will serve as an inspiration for them to continue their good deeds in contributing to Philippine progress and development and assisting overseas Filipino communities.

Acknowledging the immense philanthropic contributions of overseas Filipinos and for transparency in government transactions, Usec. Pimentel-Naik led the launching of the new Lingkod sa Kapwa Pilipino (LINKAPIL) online payment system. The LINKAPIL Program, a pioneering diaspora philanthropy service of the government, provides a system for overseas Filipinos who desire to do their share in serving fellow Filipinos by supporting developmental projects in the Philippines.

Aside from the sumptuous buffet dinner and incentives, awardees were also treated to a night full of merriment and original Filipino songs rendered by Philippine music icon Joey Ayala, Dawn Bande, and Tales of Music Strings.

cfo hosts dinner pafioo 2018p2

This year’s Presidential awardees come from 12 countries and territories and had gone through a 4-stage selection process involving multi-sectoral representation. The Presidential Awards for Filipino Individuals and Organizations Overseas (PAFIOO) have four categories – Banaag, Pamana ng Pilipino, Lingkod sa Kapwa Pilipino (LINKAPIL), and Kaanib ng Bayan.

The Banaag Award is conferred on Filipino individuals or organizations for their contributions that have significantly benefited or advanced the cause of overseas Filipino communities. The Banaag awardees are Corazon A. Francisco (Australia), Agnes Katbeth O. Kreimer (Peru), Dindo B. Malanyaon (Italy), Juliet Montano (Taiwan), Pilipino Workers Center of Southern California (United States), Maria Cristina F. Sulaik (Sudan), and Wimler Foundation Hong Kong, Ltd. (Hong Kong).

The Pamana ng Pilipino Award is conferred on Filipino overseas, who, in exemplifying the talent and industry of the Filipino, have brought the country honor and recognition through excellence and distinction in the pursuit of their work or profession. The Pamana ng Pilipino awardees are Paul C. Balan (United States), Edward M. Brotonel (United States), Nicolas M. Caraquel (United States), Elizabeth L. Engle (United States), Maria Theresa A. Eviota (Switzerland), Pedro A. Jose (United States), Teresita A. Marques (Portugal), C. Joe Sayas, Jr. (United States), Jose Dennis C. Teodosio (Myanmar), Saturnino H. Tiamson, Jr. (Hong Kong), Jhett D. Tolentino (United States).

The LINKAPIL Award is conferred on Filipino individuals or organizations for exceptional or significant contributions to the reconstruction, progress and development of the Philippines. The LINKAPIL awardees are Association of Fil-Am Teachers of America, Inc. (United States), Salvacion G. Cimanez (Netherlands), Filipino-American Law Enforcement Officers Association (United States), Friends Indeed U.S.A., Inc. (United States), and Hilda L. Gigioli (United States).

The Kaanib ng Bayan Award is conferred to foreign individuals or organizations for their exceptional or significant contribution to Philippine reconstruction, progress and development, or have significantly benefited a sector or community in the Philippines, or advanced the cause of overseas Filipino communities. The Kaanib ng Bayan awardees are Foreign Domestic Worker Association for Social Support and Training (Singapore), and Stichting LOOP (Netherlands).

cfo hosts dinner pafioo 2018p3

Institutionalized in 1991 through Executive Order No. 498, the Presidential Awards is a biennial search for individuals and organizations based abroad who have dedicated their work in the service of Filipinos either by selflessly supporting relief, rehabilitation, and development programs in the home country, or by having excelled in their profession or field of expertise overseas. For the past 27 years, the awards have been bestowed upon 460 Filipino individuals and organizations overseas from 51 countries and territories.

The Presidential Awards is organized by the CFO (, an agency under the Office of the President tasked to promote and uphold the interests, rights and welfare of overseas Filipinos, as well as to maintain strong and mutually beneficial ties between overseas Filipinos throughout the world and the motherland. The formal awarding ceremony will be held at Malacanan Palace on December 5, 2018 with Presidente Duterte conferring the awards.

* * *

For further information, please contact the:

Presidential Awards Secretariat
Commission on Filipinos Overseas
Tel: 552-4764; 552-4765