standee whole smaller


12/3/2018. The Commission on Filipinos Overseas will host a Pre-Awards Testimonial Dinner in honor of the 2018 Presidential Awardees – outstanding Filipino individuals and organizations overseas – on December 3, 2018 at The Manila Hotel. CFO Secretary Justice Francisco “Nick Acosta” and Usec. Astravel Pimentel-Naik will lead the social event as a way of touching base and thanking the awardees for their valuable contributions to Philippine development and assistance to Filipino communities. President Rodrigo Duterte will confer the awards in a ceremonial rite on December 5 at Malacanan Palace.


The awardees come from 12 countries and territories and had gone through a 4-stage selection process involving multi-sectoral representation. The Presidential Awards for Filipino Individuals and Organizations Overseas (PAFIOO) have four categories – Banaag, Pamana ng Pilipino, Lingkod sa Kapwa Pilipino (LINKAPIL), and Kaanib ng Bayan.

The Banaag Award is conferred on Filipino individuals or organizations for their contributions that have significantly benefited or advanced the cause of overseas Filipino communities. The Banaag awardees are Corazon A. Francisco (Australia), Agnes Katbeth O. Kreimer (Peru), Dindo B. Malanyaon (Italy), Juliet Montano (Taiwan), Pilipino Workers Center of Southern California (United States), Maria Cristina F. Sulaik (Sudan), and Wimler Foundation Hong Kong, Ltd. (Hong Kong).

The Pamana ng Pilipino Award is conferred on Filipino overseas, who, in exemplifying the talent and industry of the Filipino, have brought the country honor and recognition through excellence and distinction in the pursuit of their work or profession. The Pamana ng Pilipino awardees are Paul C. Balan (United States), Edward M. Brotonel (United States), Nicolas M. Caraquel (United States), Elizabeth L. Engle (United States), Maria Theresa A. Eviota (Switzerland), Pedro A. Jose (United States), Teresita A. Marques (Portugal), C. Joe Sayas, Jr. (United States), Jose Dennis C. Teodosio (Myanmar), Saturnino H. Tiamson, Jr. (Hong Kong), Jhett D. Tolentino (United States).

The LINKAPIL Award is conferred on Filipino individuals or organizations for exceptional or significant contributions to the reconstruction, progress and development of the Philippines. The LINKAPIL awardees are Association of Fil-Am Teachers of America, Inc. (United States), Salvacion G. Cimanez (Netherlands), Filipino-American Law Enforcement Officers Association (United States), Friends Indeed U.S.A., Inc. (United States), and Hilda L. Gigioli (United States).

The Kaanib ng Bayan Award is conferred to foreign individuals or organizations for their exceptional or significant contribution to Philippine reconstruction, progress and development, or have significantly benefited a sector or community in the Philippines, or advanced the cause of overseas Filipino communities. The Kaanib ng Bayan awardees are Foreign Domestic Worker Association for Social Support and Training (Singapore), and Stichting LOOP (Netherlands).

Secretary Acosta recognizes the Filipino diaspora and OFWs as Philippines valuable socio-economic development partners. He said that “the sum of their life and works, and their undying love to Filipinos bring honor to the host and mother countries.” The event is organized with the support of the Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation (PAGCOR).

Institutionalized in 1991 through Executive Order No. 498, the Presidential Awards is a biennial search for individuals and organizations based abroad who have dedicated their work in the service of Filipinos either by selflessly supporting relief, rehabilitation, and development programs in the home country, or by having excelled in their profession or field of expertise overseas. For the past 27 years, the awards have been bestowed upon 460 Filipino individuals and organizations overseas from 51 countries and territories.

The Presidential Awards is organized by the CFO (, an agency under the Office of the President tasked to promote and uphold the interests, rights and welfare of overseas Filipinos, as well as to maintain strong and mutually beneficial ties between overseas Filipinos throughout the world and the motherland.

* * *

For further information, please contact the:

Presidential Awards Secretariat
Commission on Filipinos Overseas
Tel: 552-4764; 552-4765