In June 1988, then President Corazon C. Aquino signed Proclamation No. 276 declaring December 1988 and the same month of every year as the “Month of Overseas Filipinos”. It gave recognition to overseas Filipinos who contributed to the restoration of Philippine democracy and to Philippine development through their taxes and remittances.

In 2007, then President Gloria Macapagal – Arroyo signed Administrative Order No. 202 creating the Inter-Agency Committee for the Celebration of the Month Overseas Filipinos with the Philippine Migrants Rights Watch (PMRW, an umbrella organization of migrant civil society organizations) as Chair and the CFO as Co-Chair.

The 2016 MOF had as its theme Overseas Filipinos as Culture Bearers: Tunay na Malikhain, Matatag at Masipag with major activities such as the Regional Forum on Migration in Davao, International Forum on Migration in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia and Seoul, South Korea, a Migrants’ Health Fair in Batangas, and a National Forum in Quezon City. For 2017, the theme for the MOF is “Enhancing Reintegration: Leaving No Migrants and their Families Behind.”